“A Danish Girl”: #winning

The_Danish_Girl_(film)_posterI saw A Danish Girl today and was deeply moved. This story of love and art earns my vote for best picture, actor, actress, and director. Okay, I admit: I’ve only seen a handful of movies this year that weren’t animated or didn’t star robots, and I have a soft spot (or is that a hard spot?) for movies about gender ID issues. I am also a really tough critic when it comes to movies: 90 percent of them disappoint me. This one surprised and stirred me from beginning to end. I weeped copiously. It’s a deeply feminist and humanist movie. The relationship between the two Danish girls is complicated and deep, and they are played superbly by Eddie Redmayne and Alicia Vikander. Plus, it’s a true story, and the 1920s styles and European landscapes are to die for.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recommended viewing, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

