#OnlyinAmerica

One telling anecdote summarizes my last 24 hours of reentry into American culture:

I went grocery shopping at Sprouts. As a store ostensibly dedicated to fresh produce and healthy food, this was the closest supermarket experience I could get to my love affair with Parisian markets and epicurean neighborhood stores, I figured. There was even a shrink-wrapped, perfectly rectangular piece of Parmesan that professed itself “artisanal.” At the checkout, a store employee asked me if I wanted to sample a new product:

Cotton-candy-flavored grapes.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#OnlyinAmerica

  1. Todd Ninman

    Evelyn- having lived in Paris, I know how soul-filling the food shopping experience can be. From the open-air street markets to the sensibly-separated boulangeries, pattiseries and charcuteries, there is no analog here. At best, there is marketing gone absurd.

    Like

Leave a Reply

