Henry Jenkins and Shepard Fairey

Studying with fan studies pioneer and author Henry Jenkins has been a highlight of my fellowship at USC. If I had known people like Henry were going to knock cultural studies off of its podium pedantry, I might have stayed with academia (probably not). His New Media Literacies course exposed me to ideas about digital culture that have inspired my own research projects. So I’m extremely honored that he is posting my final paper on his blog, http://henryjenkins.org/. It’s about Shepard Fairey, punk rock, fair use, free culture, Obam, hope, and appropriative art. Let us know what you think. First part today, second Friday.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Henry Jenkins and Shepard Fairey

  1. Evelyn, it’s good to find you again.

    I code the Movable Type blogs for projo.com now (I moved over from print in 1999). MT’s tag language has grammar and syntax, and uses the logic of Tinker Toys to power a Lotus. I had to learn it in order to make my ideas.

    There are lots of ideas I don’t know how to make, too.

    Can I download what you’ve learned from Henry?

    Like

Leave a Reply

